• Latest News

    Wednesday, December 18, 2013

    Lawmakers Jubiliate As 37 PDP Reps Defect To APC

    Thirty-Seven members of the Peoples Democratic Party on Wednesday formally defected to the All Progressives Congress.
    The members wrote a letter to the Speaker, Mr. Aminu Tambuwal, citing “division and factions” in the PDP as their reasons for moving en bloc to the APC.
    Among the defectors are the Chairman, House Committee on Publicity, Mr. Zakari Mohammed, from Kwara State and Dakuku Peterside from Rivers State.
    Tambuwal read out the names of the defectors on the floor and stood up to acknowledge their decision to abandon the PDP.

    They said their action was backed by Section 68(1)(g) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).
    There was jubilation on the floor as the APC members hugged the defectors and shook hands with them.
    For PDP members, most of them looked worried, but some of them shouted “PDP, power!”
    The defectors soon filed before Tambuwal, shaking hands with him.
    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Item Reviewed: Lawmakers Jubiliate As 37 PDP Reps Defect To APC Rating: 5 Reviewed By: BrandIconImage
    Scroll to Top