• Latest News

    Monday, November 5, 2018

    2018 MTV EMAs: Tiwa Savage, Camila Cabello, Others Wins Big

    The show celebrated its 25th edition this year. The MTV Europe Music Awards are held in a different European city each year, with winners selected by fans across the continent.
    Tiwa Savage, Camila Cabello and Nicki Minaj were among the three big winners at the just concluded MTV EMAs held at the Bizkaia Arena, Bilbao in Spain.

    Camila was the biggest winner, She took home four awards including best artist, best video and best song and best US act on Sunday. The 21-year-old thanked her fans in Spanish as the ceremony took place in the city of Bilbao.
    She said: "I love my fans so much. I know what it's like to be a fan. I know how special that bond is. I love you. I see you. Gracias."

    While Nigerian superstar, Tiwa Savage, edges Davido and other acts walked away with Best Africa Act.
    She said: "I'm just a girl from Nigeria living my dreams. I'm so thankful to everyone that's supported my journey so far, especially my fans. Thank you MTV!"

    Singer Janet Jackson received a Global Icon Award. She also performed a medley of songs over her 40-year career with a mix of African drummers, flame torches, fire breathers, more than 20 dancers and an elevated stage surrounded by flames.
    She made a plea for "justice" for women who have had their voices silenced.
    She said: "I feel moved to speak for women's voices who have been stifled. I am one of those women, women who have been gagged, both literally and emotionally, women who have been abused, women who have been intimidated, women who have lived in fear.

    Lindsay Lohan and Ashlee Simpson also made appearances on stage at the event.

    Nicki Minaj descended from ceiling in a giant, black veiled cage amid fireworks for her performance before picking up the award for the best hip hop act.

    Little Mix then joined her on stage for the elaborate opening.

    See the complete list below:

    Best African Act
    Davido (Nigeria)
    Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) Winner
    Distruction Boyz (South Africa)
    Fally Ipupa (DRC)
    Nyashinski (Kenya)
    Shekinah (South Africa)

    Best Artist
    Ariana Grande
    Camila Cabello Winner
    Dua Lipa
    Post Malone

    Best Video
    Ariana Grande (No Tears left to cry)
    Camila Cabello (Havana ft. Young Thug) Winner
    Childish Gambino (This Is America)
    Lil Dicky (Freaky Friday ft. Chris Brown)
    The Carters (APES**T)

    Best Song
    Ariana Grande (No tears left to cry)
    Bebe Rexha (Meant To Be ft. Florida Georgia Line)
    Camila Cabello (Havana ft. Young Thug) Winner
    Drake (God’s Plan)
    Post Malone (Rockstar ft. 21 Savage)

    Best Pop
    Ariana Grande
    Camila Cabello
    Dua Lipa Winner
    Hailee Steinfeld
    Shawn Mendes

    Best New Artist
    Cardi B Winner
    Hayley Kiyoko
    Jessie Reyez

    Best Hip Hop
    Nicki Minaj Winner
    Travis Scott

    Best Live
    Ed Sheeran
    Shawn Mendes Winner
    The Carters

    Best Rock
    5 Seconds Of Summer Winner
    Foo Fighters
    Imagine Dragons

    Best Alternative
    Fall Out Boy
    Panic! At The Disco (Winner)
    The 1975
    Thirty Seconds To Mars
    Twenty-one pilots

    Best Electronic
    Calvin Harris
    David Guetta
    Marshmello Winner
    Martin Garrix
    The Chainsmokers

    Biggest Fans
    BTS Winner
    Camila Cabello
    Selena Gomez
    Shawn Mendes
    Taylor Swift

    Best World Stage
    Clean Bandit (MTV Crashes Plymouth, UK 2017)
    Charli XCX (MTV Crashes Plymouth, UK 2017)
    David Guetta (Trafalgar Square, UK 2017)
    Jason Derulo (Isle of MTV Malta 2018)
    Post Malone (Wireless Festival, UK 2018)
    Migos (Wireless Festival, UK 2018)
    J Cole (Wireless Festival, UK 2018)
    Nick Jonas (MTV Spotlight @ Hyperplay, Singapore 2018)
    Alessia Cara (MTV Spotlight @ Hyperplay, Singapore 2018) Winner

    Best Push
    PRETTYMUCH (October 2017)
    Why Don’t We (November 2017)
    Grace VanderWaal (December 2017) Winner
    Bishop Briggs (January 2018)
    Superorganism (February 2018)
    Jessie Reyez (March 2018)
    Hayley Kiyoko (April 2018)
    Lil Xan (May 2018)
    Sigrid (June 2018)
    Chloe x Halle (July 2018)
    Bazzi (August 2018)
    Jorja Smith (September 2018)

    Best Look
    Cardi B
    Dua Lipa
    Nicki Minaj Winner
    Post Malone

    Best US Act
    Ariana Grande
    Camila Cabello Winner
    Cardi B
    Imagine Dragons
    Post Malone

    Best Canadian Act EST CANADIAN ACT: Shawn Mendes

    Best Korean Act: Loona

    Best UK And Ireland Act: Little Mix

    Global Icon: Janet Jackson
    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Item Reviewed: 2018 MTV EMAs: Tiwa Savage, Camila Cabello, Others Wins Big Rating: 5 Reviewed By: BrandIconImage
    Scroll to Top