• Latest News

    Monday, February 12, 2024

    AFCON Awards: Ekong Wins MVP, Nsue Claims Golden Boot

    The 34th edition of the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations concluded in fine style at the majestic Alassane Ouattara Stadium on Sunday evening after Cote d’Ivoire came from behind to seal a magnificent third TotalEnergies CAF AFCON title against Nigeria.

    Nigeria defender and captain William Troost-Ekong bagged the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Most Valuable Player award on Sunday, a bittersweet consolation after his side fell 2-1 to hosts Cote d'Ivoire in the final.

    The PAOK centre-back played a pivotal role, leading the Super Eagles to their first final appearance since 2013. Despite scoring the opening goal, he couldn't prevent his team from succumbing to goals from Franck Kessie and Sebastien Haller.

    The 30-year-old's three goals throughout the tournament stand as a record for defenders in the past two decades.

    Emilio Nsue, captain and striker for Equatorial Guinea, claimed the Golden Boot with five goals. The 34-year-old netted a hat-trick against Cote d'Ivoire Coast in the group stage, becoming the oldest player to achieve the feat in AFCON history.

    Cote d'Ivoire hero and coach Emerse Fae won the best coach award while Simon Adingra scooped the Best Youn Player award.

    South Africa's Ronwen Williams secured the Best Goalkeeper award for his standout performance in the quarter-finals, saving four out of five penalties in the shootout against Cape Verde. His team also bagged the Fair Play award.

    Below is the full list of awards given at the AFCON:

    Ecobank Best Goalkeeper

    • Ronwen Williams – South Africa

    Air Côte d’Ivoire Fair Play Team award

    • South Africa

    Puma Golden Boot winner

    • Emilio Nsue – Equatorial Guinea (5 goals)

    Puma Silver Boot winner

    • Gelson Dala – Angola (4 goals)

    Puma Bronze boot winner

    • Mostafa Mohamed – Egypt (4 goals)

    TotalEnergies Man of the competition

    • William Troost-Ekong – Nigeria

    Best Young Player award

    • Simon Adingra – Ivory Coast

    Best Coach award

    • Emerse Faé – Ivory Coast

    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Item Reviewed: AFCON Awards: Ekong Wins MVP, Nsue Claims Golden Boot Rating: 5 Reviewed By: BrandIconImage
    Scroll to Top